Articles

10 – Sunday 10 January 2010 : pot roast and crumble

In food on January 10, 2010 by Gabor Tagged: ,

I’m getting bored of the snow as a subject, so I’m going to post about supper.

I really fancied a pot roast, and so yesterday I picked a piece of brisket for supper. Cooking it could not have been easier. Brown the meat, then put in a casserole dish with red wine and stock (bovril cubes!) to cover it. Put a lid on the casserole dish, over foil to seal it and stop the liquid evaporating away. Cook in the oven at 160 deg C. I think I gave it 5 hours 30 mins altogether (the piece of meat was 1.2 kg). Add carrots, potatoes and onions about 2 hours before serving.

I used some of the liquid to make gravy. The rest has been saved for a French onion soup tomorrow.

And for pudding, apple and damson crumble with ice cream. I am slowly finishing the 2008 crop of damsons: I stewed them and froze them in old margarine tubs. I used the 2009 crop to make jam. The jam was not a success as it set rock solid and had to be thrown out. Oh well, live and learn.

4 Responses to “10 – Sunday 10 January 2010 : pot roast and crumble”

  1. Gabor Kovacs – good with food!

  2. Mr. Kovacs, pod-cook! This is electrical sausage 🙂

  3. electrical sausage?! Brisket is a cut of beef from the breast or lower chest, rolled and tied. Delicious cooked long and slow, it melts in the mouth. The sort of thing my nagymama used to make in her little stove in Debrecen.

    And left-overs are great in sandwiches!

  4. I know that was made from brisket, but ‘sausage’ rhymes pretty well with ‘language’

Leave a Reply

