Articles

98 – Thursday 8 April 2009 : RIP Malcolm McLaren 1946 – 2010

In RIP on April 9, 2010 by Gabor Tagged: , ,

Malcolm McLaren died today. He lost his battle with cancer.

As the Svengali behind the Sex Pistols, he had an important influence on me, although it is only now that I see it.

In 1977 I was 18. That was the year between school and university. I went to gigs for the first time, most of them punk bands of course. That is when a large strand of my musical taste was formed. Whether punk contributed to the well-hidden anarchist or subversive streak in me, I do not know.

Leave a Reply

